Betting Tips You Can Count On!

BettingChoice Exclusives

  • Betting Tips
  • Free Bet Offers

Liverpool vs Braga Half-Time Update

Liverpool's Glen Johnson


Liverpool will be hoping they don’t become the second English club to be knocked out of the Europa League tonight, as they are currently find themselves being held 0-0 by Braga.

A lively, boisterous Anfield crowd are watching their side try and progress through this competition to try and save what has been a rollercoaster of a season. After eliminations from all other cup competitions, and the League far from their reach, A European trophy could really help them step up next season, perhaps even securing Kenny Dalglish with a longer, full-time contract.

Dalglish’s men were tested straight away; a Braga free-kick was wickedly curled in inside the opening minute was calmly collected by Pepe Reina, who is making his 300th Liverpool appearance tonight.

Andy Carroll had a half chance early on too, which originated from a Joe Cole run-and-shot. After the initial effort was saved well from the Braga goalkeeper, the loose ball fell to Carroll just outside the area, the shot eventually deflecting wide.

Things calmed down slightly after a frantic start; Liverpool had a penalty shout around the 22 minute mark, after a Liverpool corner a scuffle in the box between Carroll and his marker resulted in the whistle blowing, however it was for a foul by the England forward.

Liverpool’s team news prior to kick-off included the expected news that Andy Carroll would start up front for the first time for his new club. He is joined in the starting eleven by the returning Danny Wilson and midfielder Maxi Rodriguez. Jay Spearing, Sotirios Kyrgiakos and Christian Poulsen are all benched from the 1st leg.

Braga decided to keep Kaka on the bench, alongside Mossoro, bringing in Paulao and Vandinho.


Liverpool: Reina, Johnson, Wilson, Carragher, Skrtel, Meireles, Cole, Maxi, Lucas, Kuyt, Carroll

Substitutes: Gulacsi, Kyrgiakos, Flanagan, Spearing, Poulsen, Pacheco, Ngog

Braga: Artur, Alberto Rodriguez, Paulao, Miguel Garcia, Silvio, Leandro Salino, Hugo Viana, Vandinho, Paulo Cesar, Lima, Alan

Substitutes: Cristiano, Kaka, Dani, Mossoro, Peterson, Helder Barbosa, Meyong

latest articles

related articles